The UVaCollab team is pleased to introduce a new feature this spring that gives instructors the option to easily provide waitlisted students with temporary access to course sites through the Add/Drop period.
Students say they want it:
I am on the waitlist for the course, but I would like to join the site now so that I won't be behind if I am able to get into the class.
Faculty say they want it:
I want students on my waitlist to be automatically added to my site during the Add/Drop period.
When the SIS enrollment data for a course includes students on a waitlist, a Waiting List roster will appear beneath the primary course roster on the Course/Section(s) Selection screen in UVaCollab, which can be added during site creation or by editing rosters in existing course sites.
There are many faculty who do not want to give site access to the entire set of waitlisted students for their course. In these cases, instructors may manually add individual students to their course sites as described on the Managing Course Sites FAQ.
SIS will stop sending waitlisted data to UVaCollab when the Add/Drop period for a course expires. At that time, students on Waiting List rosters will be automatically removed from associated course sites in UVaCollab.
The Waiting List roster will still appear in Site Info as one of the Roster(s) with site access, but all students formerly in that roster will be removed when the Add/Drop period expires.
Instructors may elect to remove a Waiting List roster from a course site at any time, either before or after the Add/Drop period expires.
When a Waiting List roster is added to a course site, all students on that roster are automatically assigned the Waitlisted Student role in the site.
The Waitlisted Student role is a new role to help instructors identify waitlisted students in the site.
Students in the Waitlisted Student role have the same default permissions as enrolled students who are in the Student role.
Submissions and associated grades made by Waitlisted Students to Assignments and Tests & Quizzes disappear from these tools when:
Gradebook data for deleted Waitlisted Students likewise disappears from the site.
Other tools will retain artifacts left behind by Waitlisted Students after Waiting List roster data is no longer available. In most cases, instructors are able to remove these artifacts if they so choose.
Tools that retain artifacts:
If you have questions or want more information about these new features, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.